thought

joyeux anniversaire

This past Sunday, it was my birthday (!). In between suffering from the blistering cold here in the city, there are occasionally (okay, quite often) moments of serene happiness. Keith came to visit the city, which is always a perk of any month, and many pieces of birthday cake/dessert were consumed in a very short period of time. My friend Julia baked the most beautiful, and potentially heaviest, carrot cake I have ever had the pleasure of eating. And Pisticci, a small local restaurant, was pleasant enough to draw out a leisurely late lunch into practically a midnight snack. Or, at least in my mind, attempting to eat at 3pm should not mean the bill is paid around 7pm — or something like that, but the mishap did end with a free dessert that was basically just a mountain of whipped cream topped with berries aka the best dessert ever.

It was a beautiful weekend, and it’s always nice to take a few days to step back to appreciate those around you/to remember that you are appreciated, too. Cheers!

Kiwi gave me a mystery plant, which I of course proceeded to ruin. I didn't ruin the plant, but I certainly did ruin the mystery. More to come on this developing story later.

::Kiwi gave me a mystery plant, which I of course proceeded to ruin. I didn’t ruin the plant, but I certainly did ruin the mystery. More to come on this developing story later::

Pisticci midnight snack

::Here it is, the mountainous pile of whipped cream and berries. Eat your eyes out, people. Keith’s hands were shaking out of pure joy, and thus, the picture is blurry with a instagram-tastic filter to mask the photography::

little nugget::Here’s Julia, decked out in a true party-dress, which is probably why she was the hit of the party. Baking cakes and donning birthday attire. Her spirited adherence to the mystical birthday code is noteworthy::

Birthday Bao::In addition to my Birthday Plant (sounds infinitely better if I were to ruin the surprise…okay, Birthday Beans) I got a Birthday Bao from Julia! It was probably the largest bao of my life, which is significant for many reasons, most astonishingly because I just got back from China and have never seen a bao this huge before. Alas, it was stuffed with all things good, and the steamed bun (rather than baked) reminded me of home/China/Chinatown. Birthday Beans & Birthday Baos … probably some of the best gifts I’ve ever received, if you’re ever looking for a gift idea::

 

 

Standard

One thought on “joyeux anniversaire

Leave a Reply

